Print
Category: Weather Reports
Hits: 1250

Wind Chill Advisory Issued by NWS NorthernIndiana (Northern Indiana and Northeastern Ohio)

Indiana Target Area: Adams, Allen, Blackford, Cass, Fulton, Grant, Huntington, Jay, Kosciusko, La Porte, Marshall, Miami, Pulaski, Starke, Wabash, Wells, White, and Whitley Counties.

 

WIND CHILL ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 10 PM EST /9 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 1 PM EST /NOON CST/ THURSDAY.

 

***HAZARDOUS WEATHER*** 

*WIND CHILL TEMPERATURES OF 15 BELOW TO 20 BELOW ZERO LATE TONIGHT INTO MIDDAY THURSDAY. 

 

***IMPACTS*** 

*BITTERLY COLD WIND CHILLS ARE EXPECTED THAT CAN CAUSE FROSTBITE ON EXPOSED SKIN IN AS LITTLE AS 30 MINUTES. PEOPLE WHO MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS SHOULD DRESS IN LAYERS AND COVER ALL EXPOSED SKIN TO AVOID FROSTBITE.

 

Instructions: A WIND CHILL ADVISORY MEANS THAT VERY COLD AIR AND STRONG WINDS WILL COMBINE TO GENERATE LOW WIND CHILLS. THIS WILL RESULT IN FROST BITE AND LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA IF PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN. IF YOU MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS...MAKE SURE YOU WEAR A HAT AND GLOVES.