Print
Category: Weather Reports
Hits: 385

Published: 08/25/21 @ 4:21 PM – Updated: 08/25/21 @ 4:21 PM

 

Heat Advisory Issued by NWS NorthernIndiana (Northern Indiana and Northeastern Ohio)

Indiana Target Area: Adams, Allen, Blackford, Cass, De Kalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Huntington, Jay, Kosciusko, La Porte, Lagrange, Marshall, Miami, Noble, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, White, and Whitley Counties.

 

HEAT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM EDT /8 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING.

*WHAT: Peak heat indices in the upper 90s to 105 degrees.

*WHERE: Portions of northern Indiana, southwest Michigan, and northwest Ohio.

*WHEN: From 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ this morning to 9 PM EDT /8 PM CDT/ this evening.

*IMPACTS: Hot temperatures and high humidity may cause heat illnesses to occur.

 

Instructions: Drink plenty of fluids, stay in an air-conditioned room, stay out of the sun, and check up on relatives and neighbors. Young children and pets should never be left unattended in vehicles under any circumstances. Take extra precautions if you work or spend time outside. When possible reschedule strenuous activities to early morning or evening. Know the signs and symptoms of heat exhaustion and heatstroke. Wear lightweight and loose-fitting clothing when possible. To reduce risk during outdoor work, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration recommends scheduling frequent rest breaks in shaded or air-conditioned environments. Anyone overcome by heat should be moved to a cool and shaded location. Heatstroke is an emergency! Call 911.